HomeBensalem TimesBensalem students attend PJAS State Competition

Bensalem students attend PJAS State Competition

Sixteen Bensalem High School students received first place awards

Bensalem High School PJAS participants. Submitted Photo

Bensalem Township School District students attended the Pennsylvania Junior Academy of Science State Competition, held May 17-21, at Penn State University, State College. Thousands of students from across Pennsylvania presented their scientific research at this annual competition. These projects are a culmination of months of hard work and dedication.

Thirty-four Bensalem High School students competed, with 16 receiving first-place awards. They are: Greeshma Annagowni, Heeti Desai, Lucas Ferrandez, Dhruv Gohil, Rishi Jani, Michael Larbi, Anna Marks, Abigail Nanakobi, Chudier Nyak, Aarav Patel, Jeet Patel, Meet Patel, Veer Patel, Snaha Paul, Diya Shah and Princi Shah.

Second-place award winners are: Arya George, Julia Mathews, Isaac Mathieu, Marnaath Nyak, Oluseyi Oduntan, Teni Onilari, Aastha Patel, Aayushi Patel, Aayushi Patel, Diya Patel, Jiya Patel, Vedika Patel, Yash Patel, Eesha Shah, Sanya Shah, Nitasha Sharma and Phoebe Ting. Jhanvi Pathak placed third.

The following BHS students earned Monetary Regional Awards and State Perseverance Awards for four-plus years of participation: Aastha Patel (6), Aayushi Patel (6), Julia Mathews (5) and Diya Shah (4). Gunjan Patel (6), Jiya Patel (5) and Astha Patel (4) received Perseverance Plaques. 

The BHS team is sponsored by their adviser Lisa Tokmajian. Chris Sterman served as a chaperone.

Shafer PJAS participants. Submitted Photo

In the middle school division, 14 Robert K. Shafer Middle School students participated, with eight earning first-place awards. They are: Aiden Frank, Benjamin Joy, James Mocarski, Manan Patel, Siya Patel, Nashmia Rana, Abigail Schwartz and Sean Winters.

The second-place award winners are: Nicki Bibeck, Peyton D’Andrea, Joseph Hughes, Divit Kaka and Hasnain Kazmi. Shiven Patel received a third-place award.

The Shafer Middle School students are sponsored by Morgan Golombek.

Snyder PJAS participants. Submitted Photo

Four Cecelia Snyder Middle School students attended states. Emily Knight earned a first-place award. The second-place award winners are: Patrick Marks, Daniel Mathieu and Kirtan Patel.

The Snyder Middle School students are sponsored by Kate Liese and Tom Hoffman. 

clear sky
88.5 ° F
92 °
84.7 °
58 %
0 %
92 °
90 °
93 °
95 °
95 °
- Advertisment -

Current Issue

19006 Huntingdon Valley