Home Bensalem Times PJAS competition held in Bensalem

PJAS competition held in Bensalem

A number of Bensalem Township School District students earned first place

The 80th annual Pennsylvania Junior Academy of Science regional competition was held earlier this month at Cecelia Snyder Middle School. Over 400 students from Philadelphia and Bucks County presented their independent scientific research to professional scientists and educators in this regional fair. Students had their choice of creating a purposeful science experiment, exploring a mathematics topic above their current range of study, or exploring technology with a computer science or engineering project.

Forty-five Bensalem High School students participated, with 37 students earning first place awards. Four students earned first place perfect scores: Sofia Ferrandez, Teniola Onilari, Jia Patel and Mahi Patel.

The following students earned first place awards: Greeshma Annagowni, Heeti Desai, Lucas Ferrandez, Ashwin Guda, Kaitlyn Higgins, Michael Larbi, Julia Mathews, Isaac Mathieu, Abigail Nanakobi, Chudier Nyak, Oluseyi Oduntan, Caroline Oliynyk, Asha Paul, Aastha Patel, Aayushi Patel, Aayushi Patel, Astha Patel, Ayush Patel, Diya Patel, Gunjan Patel, Jiya Patel, Meet Patel, Ritvika Patel, Shiv Patel, Veer Patel, Aditya Rao, Hala Sayed, Keira Seidman, Diya Shah Zaid Shaik, Phoebe Ting, Hamza Zafar and Ethan Zhao.

Eddie Barber, Emily Le, Victoria Mocarski, Het Patel, Kush H. Patel, Kush N. Patel, Shruti Patel and Vedika Patel earned second place awards.

The high school students were sponsored by Lisa Tokmajian.

In the Middle School Division, after months of hard work and dedication, 11 Robert K. Shafer students earned first place awards. They are: Aiden Frank, Jada Hopkins, Joseph Hughes, Hasnain Kazmi, James Mocarski, Kylie O’Neil, Jeet Patel, Nashmia Rana, Anthony Reznitchenko, Sophia Seidman and Sean Winters. Siya Patel received a second place award.

The Shafer students were sponsored by Morgan Golombek.

Six Cecelia Snyder students participated, with five students earning a first place award. Those students are: Jhanvi Pathak, Anna Marks, Abbie Krevolin, Kirtan Patel and Daphne Gao. Lily Becker received a second place award.

The Snyder students were sponsored by Kate Liese and Tom Hoffman.

Earning a first place award will allow these young scientists to compete at the virtual PJAS State Meet in May.

Exit mobile version