HomeBensalem TimesResults of Nov. 2 election in Bucks lean heavily Republican

Results of Nov. 2 election in Bucks lean heavily Republican

Longtime Bensalem mayor retains seat; Pennsbury parents furious over Democratic school board wins

And the winner is: The results of the Nov. 2 election in Bucks County are in. Republicans won many races, except for Pennsbury school board. Many parents are furious. Source: Pexels

The Bucks County Board of Elections has shared the official results of the Nov. 2 municipal election.

School director races leaned largely in favor of Republicans, with the exception of Pennsbury School District. The win of Democrats Lois Lambing, Josh Waldorf, Jim Prokopiak, Jeannine Delwiche, Joanna Steere and Linda L. Palsky against Republicans Victoria Czechowski, Pirooz Abir, Liza Martin, Frank Cabanas, Jennifer Spillane and Tim Watkins is drawing much criticism from a group of passionate parents.

They think the current Democratic-led school board is having a negative impact on students’ education by implementing equity politics, masking mandates and more.

“Almost every other district went RED, not ours …. People are blind. So annoyed,” wrote one member of a Pennsbury parent Facebook group. “If I didn’t love our new house/location I would sell this one and move again even though I hate moving.”

“Bucks practically went red or split in almost all categories, except in Pennsbury!,” added another. “Even Virginia went red … People are waking up, except here … beyond infuriating.”

At Bensalem Township School District, Republicans Kim J. Rivera (current board president), Jack Meyer, Joe Pettyjohn and Jiten Patel swept all four seats against Democrats Stephanie A. Gonzalez Ferrandez, Alana Hardinson, Jamie P. Devery and Scott Endicter.

Ferrandez, who joined the board in 2017, urged new members to make decisions for the benefit of the district’s students.

“This is not an easy job,” she said in a statement on Facebook. “I challenge each of you to take off your political hats, put aside single issues clouding the current picture, and take action for our children. Do not settle for mediocrity. Do not be complacent. Give each of them what they need to soar.”

Similar results were seen for Centennial School District (Republicans Fleming Godiksen, Mark Gindhart, Jane Schrader Lynch and Mary Alice Brancato won against Democrats Iolanda Spruhde, Tony Sadowski, Nicole Rinier and Tina M. Cairns), and Neshaminy School District (Republicans Cyndie Bowman and John V. Allen won against Democrats Dana Feldsher and Elizabeth D. Mitchell).

At Council Rock School District, Republicans Bob Hickey, Michael J. Roosevelt and Kristen Marcell won against Democrats Paula Barson, Roy Rakszawski and Nicole Peet Khan in Regions 6, 8 and 9. But in Region 8, Democrat Yota Palli won against Republican Keven Gessner.

Longtime incumbent Bensalem Township Mayor Joe DiGirolamo earned over 61 percent of votes against Democratic opponent Val Ridge, a former Bensalem Township police officer who said she was disappointed in the loss, but took pride in running a “clean campaign.”

“Winning takes great responsibility and you cannot take this for granted,” she told DiGirolamo. “You are and will be held to a higher standard. We need to continue to work together to move the ever-changing Bensalem forward.”

DiGirolamo will also have a fully-Republican council after Joe Pilieri, Stacey Champion and Michelle Benitez beat Democratic incumbents Jesse Sloane and Ed Tokmajian, and newcomer Marc Stolee.

“Thank you for putting your trust in us,” said Benitez, who is wrapping up her final term as a Bensalem school board member. “We have only just begun this journey. Let’s get to work!”

Other wins include the following:

Bristol Borough West Ward Council: Democrat Betty Rodriguez won against Republican Andrew Tyler McMillan
Lower Southampton Township Supervisor: Republicans Stephen Castle and Kim Koutsouradis won against Democrats Victor Corsino and Charles McCarthy
Northampton Township Supervisor: Republicans Paula Gasper and Robert J. Salzer won against Democrats Christine M. Richardson and John C. Bishop
Falls Township Supervisor: Democrat Jeff Dence and Republican John Palmer won against Republican Joan M. Graves
Langhorne Manor Borough Council: Republicans Jim Niwinski, Cheryl Oessenich, Robert McBeth and Dawn Lee Seader won against Democrats Christopher Lukose and Jenna Demirjian
Upper Southampton Township Supervisor: Republicans Keith E. Froggatt Sr. and Raymond M. Grossmuller won against Democrat Mark Forcinito

In the Bucks County Sheriff race, Republican Fred Harran, current director of public safety with the Bensalem Township Police Department, beat Democrat Mark E. Lomax. For Bucks County Recorder of Deeds, Democratic incumbent Robin Robinson lost to Republican Dan McPhillips.

A full list of results can be viewed at livevoterturnout.com/BucksPA/LiveResults/en/Index_6.html.

Samantha Bambino can be reached at sbambino@newspapermediagroup.com

clear sky
88.5 ° F
92 °
84.7 °
58 %
0 %
92 °
90 °
93 °
95 °
95 °
- Advertisment -

Current Issue

19006 Huntingdon Valley